Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 6th, 2008

You Miss My WHAT?

My Precious (Mi Cielo!; mi hijo precioso) has been gone from home over a month now. He had moved out to test the waters of independence. He seems happy whenever I see him. He has been invited to home dinners about 3-4 times during that duration. He would come in to pick up his mail. Or just plain check out his bedroom; to see if I had transformed it yet to a Yarn Room. Tsk! Tsk!

And when he’s here for a visit, I’d be tempted to ask him if he misses home; or worse, if he misses me. I wouldn’t dare, though. I’d want him to know that his mom can hack it; that I’m not the ‘HOVERING’ kind of mom after all. He hardly misses his Dad as he works at the same company his Dad works.

So, through the grapevine, I found out that My Precious indeed misses home. He was asked what he misses most. There were two things at the top of his list. Here’s what he said.

  • IRONING ~ tops the list.
  • DINNER with Nay* and Tay* ~ only comes in 2nd.

Mr. Wonderful laughed so hard when he heard this, but my jaw dropped. I was shocked! I never realized that my ironing had a very significant impact on a growing boy, who never told me that his clothes had to be impeccably clean and UNWRINKLED. He never had to complain, because always, like a robot, I had ironed everyone’s clothes, be it grudgingly. 

So, I’m not sure if I should be sad about this or jump for joy? Gosh, I thought I’d be missed for my sunny disposition and perky personality. HAHAHAHA! That would be the day! Even I do not believe that! Hahahaha!

*By the way, Nay and Tay are short for Nanay (Mom in Pinoy) and Tatay (Dad).

Read Full Post »